Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
en:help:v2:maps:on-demand-store-area [2018/02/20 18:20]
alpinequest
en:help:v2:maps:on-demand-store-area [2022/05/28 15:24] (current)
alpinequest
Line 1: Line 1:
-<​sub>​[[en:​help|Online Help]] > [[en:​help:​v2|AlpineQuest 2.x]] > [[en:​help:​v2:​maps|Maps & Layers]]</​sub>​+<​sub>​[[en:​help|Online Help]] > [[en:​help:​v2|AlpineQuest 2.x]] > [[en:​help:​v2:​maps|Maps & Layers]] ​> How to store a complete map area for offline use?</​sub>​
  
 ====== How to store a complete map area for offline use? ====== ====== How to store a complete map area for offline use? ======
 \\ \\
-Before starting, be sure to have at least one [[en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-change|on-demand map displayed]]. If you want to store more than one map at the same time, you can add the other maps as layers.+Before starting, be sure to have at least one [[en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-change|on-demand map displayed]]. If you want to store more than one map at the same time, [[en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-change#​how_to_add_another_map_as_a_layer|you can add the other maps as layers]].
  
 The store area tool will download all the map data for the area and zoom levels you have chosen, and store it on the device. The downloaded data is added into the single storage of its map. Any data already stored won't be downloaded or stored twice. At any time, [[en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-check-coverage|you can check what is stored]] for a map, or delete its entire data storage. The store area tool will download all the map data for the area and zoom levels you have chosen, and store it on the device. The downloaded data is added into the single storage of its map. Any data already stored won't be downloaded or stored twice. At any time, [[en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-check-coverage|you can check what is stored]] for a map, or delete its entire data storage.
Line 15: Line 15:
 ===== Configure the area and the zoom levels to store ===== ===== Configure the area and the zoom levels to store =====
 \\ \\
-  * Tap on the "''​**Maps**''"​ {{:​icon_01.png?​nolink}} menu and on "''​**Select and save an area**''"​ {{:​icon_02.png?​nolink}};​ +  * Tap on the "''​**Maps ​& Layers**''"​ {{:​icon_01.png?​nolink}} menu and on "''​**Select and save an area**''"​ {{:​icon_02.png?​nolink}};​ 
-  * Adjust the area to store by moving the dots {{:​icon_03.png?​nolink}},​ the map {{:​icon_04.png?​nolink}} and the zoom level; +  * Adjust the area to store by moving the dots {{:​icon_03.png?​nolink}},​ the map {{:​icon_04.png?​nolink}} and the zoom level {{:​icon_05.png?​nolink}}
-  * Select the maximum ​zoom level {{:​icon_05.png?​nolink}} to store<​sup>​1</​sup>​. When being modified, ​the maximum ​zoom level is previewed on the map, just release the zoom slider to return the map zoom to its original value; +  * Select the maximum zoom level to store<​sup>​1</​sup> ​{{:​icon_06.png?​nolink}}. When modifying ​the maximum level to store, this one is previewed on the map {{:​icon_07.png?​nolink}}. Just release the zoom slider to return the map zoom to its original value; 
-  * If needed, un-check {{:icon_06.png?​nolink}} the maps you don't want to store;+  * If needed, un-check {{:icon_08.png?​nolink}} the maps you don't want to store;
   * For each map, an estimation of the number of image tiles and size to be downloaded<​sup>​2</​sup>​ is displayed;   * For each map, an estimation of the number of image tiles and size to be downloaded<​sup>​2</​sup>​ is displayed;
-  * Tap on the "''​**Start**''"​ {{:icon_07.png?​nolink}} ​button ​to start the process.+  * Tap on "''​**Start**''"​ {{:icon_09.png?​nolink}} to start the store area process. At any time you can tap on "''​**Close**''"​ {{:​icon_10.png?​nolink}} to hide the store area side side view, the process will continue in the background.
  
-{{ :en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-store-area-1.jpg?nolink }}+{{:icon_help.png?​nolink}} ​You can only download a limited amount of data at each storage process. When you've reach this amount for a map, the levels bar turns red. You can however re-start the process as many times as you want, all the data already stored won't be downloaded again.
  
-{{:icon_help.png?​nolink}} ​You can only download a limited amount of data at each storage process. When you've reach this amount for a map, it's zoom bar turns red. You can however re-start the process as many times as you want, all the data already stored won't be downloaded again.+{{ :en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-store-area-1.jpg?nolink }}
  
-<​sup>​1. ​Stored ​maps are raster maps: each zoom level is composed by its own set of images containing different details, that's why all levels must be stored independently.</​sup>​\\+<​sup>​1. ​On-demand ​maps are raster maps: each zoom level is composed by its own set of images containing different details, that's why all levels must be stored independently.</​sup>​\\
 <​sup>​2. The size is an estimation based on the data already stored for this map.</​sup>​ <​sup>​2. The size is an estimation based on the data already stored for this map.</​sup>​
  
Line 33: Line 33:
 ===== Checking the process ===== ===== Checking the process =====
 \\ \\
-Once the process has been started, the progress of each maps is displayed {{:​icon_01.png?​nolink}}. The estimated remaining time is displayed in an information box on the map {{:​icon_02.png?​nolink}}.+Once the process has been started, the progress of each maps is displayed {{:​icon_01.png?​nolink}} ​in the side view. The estimated remaining ​total time is displayed in an information box on the map {{:​icon_02.png?​nolink}}.
  
-At any timeyou can close the progress side-view using the "''​**Close**''"​ {{:​icon_03.png?​nolink}} ​button, the process ​won't be stopped but will continue in the background.+{{:​icon_help.png?​nolink}} ​At any time you can tap on "''​**Close**''"​ {{:​icon_03.png?​nolink}} ​to hide the store area side side view, the process will continue in the background.
  
-By tapping on the "''​**Menu**''"​ {{:icon_04.png?​nolink}} ​button ​of a map, you can: +If you want to cancel the store area process, tap on the "''​**Stop**''"​ {{:​icon_04.png?​nolink}} icon. 
-  * Choose ​"''​**Details**''"​ {{:icon_05.png?​nolink}} to display more information about the selected map process, including the list of errors if any; + 
-  * Choose ​"''​**Cancel**''"​ {{:icon_06.png?​nolink}} to stop the process for the selected ​map.+By tapping on the "''​**Menu**''"​ {{:icon_05.png?​nolink}} ​icon of a map, you can: 
 +  * Tap "''​**Details**''"​ {{:icon_06.png?​nolink}} to display more information about the selected map process, including the list of errors if any; 
 +  * Tap "''​**Cancel**''"​ {{:icon_07.png?​nolink}} to stop the store area process for this map only. 
 + 
 +When the store area process is terminated, the information box is updated {{:​icon_08.png?​nolink}}. If you want to re-display the store area tool with the same settings again, tap on the "''​**Start new**''"​ {{:​icon_09.png?​nolink}} icon.
  
 {{ :​en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-store-area-2.jpg?​nolink }} {{ :​en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-store-area-2.jpg?​nolink }}
Line 48: Line 52:
 \\ \\
 Stored map data is automatically updated when being displayed again after some time, usually between one and three months depending on the map. However, it is possible to force the application to update the stored data of an area using the store area tool: Stored map data is automatically updated when being displayed again after some time, usually between one and three months depending on the map. However, it is possible to force the application to update the stored data of an area using the store area tool:
-  * Before storing an area, tap on the "''​**Settings**''"​ {{:​icon_01.png?​nolink}} ​button;+  * Before storing an area, tap on "''​**Settings**''"​ {{:​icon_01.png?​nolink}};​
   * Check the "''​**Update data already stored**''"​ {{:​icon_02.png?​nolink}} option;   * Check the "''​**Update data already stored**''"​ {{:​icon_02.png?​nolink}} option;
-  * Tap on "''​**Ok**''"​ {{:​icon_03.png?​nolink}} to validate.+  * Tap "''​**Ok**''"​ {{:​icon_03.png?​nolink}} to validate
 + 
 +{{:​icon_help.png?​nolink}} This option is automatically un-checked on the next process.
  
 {{ :​en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-update-area.jpg?​nolink }} {{ :​en:​help:​v2:​maps:​on-demand-update-area.jpg?​nolink }}
 +

Choose language:

Online help